News News

Home >  News  >  A News Story


Seven faculty members receive MEXT Commendation for Science and Technology

A total of seven faculty members from Kansai University have received the Commendation for Science and Technology from the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT). Six faculty members were awarded prizes for Science and Technology, and one member received the Young Scientists' Prize.

The commendations are given to those who have made notable achievements in research development as well as the promotion of public awareness of science. Through awarding and motivating educators and scientists, MEXT intends to enhance Japan's scientific and technological capabilities.

Of the 193 awardees of prizes for Science and Technology and the Young Scientists' Prize, 22 awardees come from private universities, including seven from our university. This indicates the research potential of Kansai University has been highly evaluated across a wide range of scientific fields.

The awardees for 2016 are as follows:

Yoshiro Tajitsu, Professor, Faculty of Engineering Science
Prize for Science and Technology, Development Category
Achievement: Development of intuitive human-machine interfaces

Professor Tajitsu

Professor Tajitsu

Shigenori Tanaka, Professor, Faculty of Informatics
Satoshi Kubota, Associate Professor, Faculty of Environmental and Urban Engineering
Prize for Science and Technology, Science and Technology Promotion Category
Achievement: Development of social infrastructure using three-dimensional information technology

Professor TanakaProfessor Kubota
Professor Tanaka, Associate Professor Kubota

Junichi Kurata, Associate Professor, Faculty of Engineering Science
Hidehisa Kawahara, Professor, Faculty of Chemistry, Materials and Bioengineering
Ken Yamamoto, Associate Professor, Faculty of Engineering Science
Prize for Science and Technology, Public Understanding Promotion Category
Achievement: Dissemination of cross-field science education for all ages

Associate Professor KurataProfessor KawaharaAssociate Professor Yamamoto
Associate Professor Kurata, Professor Kawahara, Associate Professor Yamamoto

Tatsuki Tahara, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Engineering Science
The Young Scientists' Prize
Achievement: Creation and development of a microscope for high-speed three-dimensional motion-picture imaging

Assistant Professor Tahara
Assistant Professor Tahara

June 17, 2016 04:49 PM  UP

Back to top